Question: Can you marry your first cousin in Indiana?

Can you legally marry your cousin in Indiana?

Like for instance, in the state of Indiana it is LEGAL to marry your first cousin as long as both parties are at least 65 years of age.

Which states can you marry your first cousin?

According to the NCSL, cousin marriage is legal in: Alabama, Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina (in North Carolina, first-cousin marriage is legal, but double-cousin marriage is prohibited), …

What cousin can you marry in Indiana?


State First cousin marriage allowed Half-cousin marriage allowed
Illinois Only if both parties are 50 or older, or one is infertile No
Indiana Only if both parties are 65 or older Yes
Iowa No Unknown
Kansas No Yes

Are first cousins once removed allowed to marry?

Six states ban marriage between first cousins once removed, i.e., marrying the son or daughter of your first cousin. Theoretically, that’s half as risky as marrying your first cousin, in terms of increasing the probability of passing on a genetic disease to your kids. … No state bans such marriages.

How do you legally marry someone in Indiana?

For a valid marriage in Indiana:

  1. The couple must obtain a marriage license;
  2. The couple must participate in a marriage ceremony; and.
  3. The ceremony must be performed by someone who is legally authorized to solemnize the marriage.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you get married without a ceremony in California?

What does the Bible say about marrying your first-cousin?

This “Levitical law” is found in Leviticus 18:6-18, supplemented by Leviticus 20:17-21 and Deuteronomy 27:20-23. Photo illustration, Shutterstock, Inc. Must first cousins be forbidden to marry? In the Bible, and in many parts of the world, the answer is no.

When did it become illegal to marry your cousin?

The first actual laws against first-cousin marriage appeared during the Civil War era, with Kansas banning the practice in 1858, followed by Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington, New Hampshire, Ohio and Wyoming in the 1860s.