Can a 17 year old get married without parental consent in Texas?

Can you get married at 17 in Texas without parental consent?

Texas law permits individuals who have reached the age of majority (18) to get married without parental consent. However, those 14 and older may get married with the consent of their parents or legal guardians. In those instances, consent must be given within 30 days prior to applying for a marriage license.

Can you get married at 17 in the state of Texas?

In Texas, a child — no matter what age — can get married as long as a judge approves it. And 16- and 17-year-olds can marry as long as they have parental consent. … Those ages 16 and 17 could still wed — but only with a judge’s approval.

Can a pregnant 17 year old get married without parental consent?

If you are a pregnant minor you may apply to a district court judge for permission to marry without parental consent. If you are under 16, you must get approval to marry from the District Court. … If you are between 16-18 years of age, one of your parents or guardian must be with you and provide written consent.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What does the suffix mean in the word engagement?

What state can you get married at 17 without parental consent?

Marriage Age By State 2021

State With Parental Consent Without Parental Consent
Indiana 17 18
Nebraska 17 19
Oregon 17 18
Washington 17 18

Can you marry at 17?

The marriage age is now 18 for both sexes. The consent of at least one parent or guardian is required for a person aged 16 or 17 to get married. Males at the time of marriage must be at least 18 years of age, while females aged 16–17 can marry with the consent of at least one parent or guardian.

Can I get married at 17 if Im pregnant?

However, minors (under the age of 18) must obtain both parental consent and a court order before they may legally tie the knot. Although couples seldom get married before they reach the age of majority, it is made available primarily to allow pregnant minors to marry.

Can you elope at 17?

You must be of legal age to elope. While the drinking age in America is stuck at 21, the legal age to get married (and vote!) is 18 years old. While marriage ceremonies can take place between minors, most states require that each spouse be 18 years old.

Is there a waiting period to get married in Texas?

Waiting period: There is a 72-hour waiting period from the time of getting a marriage license to the marriage ceremony. This time period may be waived for members of the armed forces or by a judge, or if the couple has completed a premarital education course.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is a good monetary amount for a wedding gift?

What are the marriage laws in Texas?

In Texas, you must be at least 18 to marry without consent; persons that are over age 16, but under 18 must obtain consent to marry. All states including Texas have specific marriage license requirements. Texas has no residency requirements.

Are 17 year olds minors?

In the United States as of 1995, minor is generally legally defined as a person under the age of 18. However, in the context of alcohol or gambling laws, people under the age of 21 may also sometimes be referred to as minors.