Best answer: Can a 17 year old get married in New Mexico?

What state can you get married at 17 without parental consent?

Marriage Age By State 2021

State With Parental Consent Without Parental Consent
Indiana 17 18
Nebraska 17 19
Oregon 17 18
Washington 17 18

Can you get married as a minor in New Mexico?

Age Requirements

You have to be at least 18 years old to marry in New Mexico unless you have special permission from your parents or the court. You’ll need the permission of your parents if you’re at least 16 years old but not yet 18.

What States Can I get married at 17?

States

Name Marriage age Notes
General marriage age
South Dakota 18 With parental consent, a person can marry at 16.
Tennessee 18 With parental consent, a person can marry at 17; however, one party cannot be more than four years older than the minor.
Texas 18 Emancipated minors who are 16 or 17 years old can marry.

Can a girl marry at 17?

No restrictions means that there are no legal restrictions on girls marrying at age 17. Can marry with parental consent and/or under religious or customary law means that girls may be married at age 17 with parental permission and/or under religious or customary law.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: What percent of people are engaged at work?

How old do you have to be to get married in Mexico?

Requirements must be obtained from local Church Officials. People under 18 years of age cannot marry without the consent of their parents or legal guardians. Under no circumstances can males under the age of sixteen, or females under the age of fourteen, be married in Mexico.

Is it okay to get married without parents permission?

Since the marriage license is a formal requisite for a valid marriage, parental consent is crucial for compliance in the statutory requirement for marriage. However, note that the lack of parental consent does not render the marriage automatically void.

How do you legally get married in New Mexico?

MARRIAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Both applicants need to be present. Both applicants need to be at least 18 years of age. Both applicants are required to provide two current official forms of government issued identification (Driver’s License/ID, Passport, Visa, or original Birth Certificate).

Do you need a witness to get married in New Mexico?

A. Although New Mexico’s marriage laws do not require witnesses to marriages to be 18, it is probably a good idea. Witnesses do not have to be US citizens, just anyone competent to observe the ceremony and sign the marriage license.

Who can perform a marriage in New Mexico?

Anyone that is licensed, ordained, or certified to perform a ceremony can marry you.

Where is child marriage still legal?

Child marriage is currently legal in 44 states (only Delaware, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island have set the minimum age at 18 and eliminated all exceptions), and 20 U.S. states do not require any minimum age for marriage, with a parental or judicial waiver.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Can a girlfriend sue a married man?