Do you have to be 21 to get married in Mississippi?

Can you get married at 18 in Mississippi?

Those wishing for a marriage in Mississippi must be over 21. Those who are under 21 must have parental consent. Those who are under 17 must get permission from a judge to waive the minimum age requirements (this is only 15 for females, however).

Can you get married under 21 in Mississippi?

Mississippi marriage fee is $21-24 and the license doesn’t expire once it has been issued. The legal age to marry is 21, females 15 and males 17 can marry with parents petition and judicial waiver. No blood test or residency requirements.

How old do u have to be to get married in Mississippi?

Both parties must be at least 21 years old, or age 17 for males and age 15 for females, with parental and/or judicial permission. Marriages are legal between opposite-sex couples or, since 2015, same-sex couples in Mississippi.

What age can you get married without parental consent in Mississippi?

Marriage Laws of the Fifty States, District of Columbia and Puerto Rico

State Common Law Marriage Age of consent to marry
Age without parental consent
Minnesota- Chapter 517 No 18
Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1 No Male-17 Female-15
Missouri- Chapter 451 No 18
IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Who is Charlie Fairhead married to?

Can you get married at 18 without parental consent in Mississippi?

An individual in the U.S. can marry without parental consent at the age of 18 in all states except for Nebraska, where the age is 19. In the past 15 years, about 200,000 minors have married.

Marriage Age By State 2021.

State With Parental Consent Without Parental Consent
California 18
Mississippi 15
Massachusetts 12 18
New Hampshire 13 18

Who can legally marry a couple in Mississippi?

In Mississippi, males who are at least 17 years old and females who are at least 15 years old are legally capable of getting married.

What is the legal age of adulthood in Mississippi?

FindLaw Newsletters Stay up-to-date with how the law affects your life

Age of Majority 21 (Mississippi Code 1-3-27)
Eligibility for Emancipation By petition, no minimum age specified (Mississippi Code 93-19-3)
Contracts by Minors 18 for personal property; ratification must be signed in writing (Mississippi Code 15-3-11)

Can you marry at 20?

There is no best age to get married that applies to everyone. You’re never too old for it, and while it’s very possible to get married before you’re ready, it’s often not necessarily because you’re too young to marry. … Here’s how to know if getting married in your 20s is a good idea for you.